Call Number Podcast: Newbery Medal Winners

Conversations with distinguished children’s authors

July 18, 2022

Episode 73: Newbery Medal Winners

This year, the Newbery Medal celebrates 100 years of recognizing distinguished children’s literature. In Episode 73, American Libraries associate editor and Call Number host Diana Panuncial interviews four prior winners of the award: Jerry Craft, 2020 Newbery Medal winner for New Kid; Cynthia Kadohata, 2005 winner for Kira-Kira; Tae Keller, 2021 winner for When You Trap a Tiger; and Lois Lowry, two-time winner for Number the Stars in 1990 and The Giver in 1994. The authors share their memories of getting the call, what they hope kids are taking away from their books, and what projects they’re working on these days.

If you have feedback for the podcast team, email us or call us at 312-280-4216. Tell us what you liked, what you didn’t like, and what you’d like to see us cover; we may feature your comment on a future episode. You can also follow us on Twitter and SoundCloud and leave a review on iTunes.


From left, Lois Lowry, Cynthia Kadohata, Tae Keller, and Jerry Craft.

Winner’s Circle

Conversations with past winners of the Newbery Medal

Image features the many books that have won the Newbery Medal over the last 100 years in a colorful, grid-like pattern.

A Celebration of the Newbery Medal

Stories honor 100 years of the children’s book award