ALA Council I: Rethinking ALA

January 27, 2013

The ALA Council breezed through approval of 2012 ALA Annual Conference Council minutes, among other actions at its first session of Midwinter in Seattle today. 

The ALA Council Committee on Committees presented the following 2013 nominees for the ALA Executive Board: Daniel A. Berdaner, Peter D. Hepburn, Sara Kelly Johns, and James G. Neal. Two of the candidates will be voted to the board for the 2013 fall meeting by the Council.

The following were appointed as Tellers for the Council election to the Executive Board include: Eileen K. Bosch, Betsy Fraser, and Henry R. Stewart, chair.

Digital Content and Libraries Working Group special committee Co-chairs Sari Feldman and Robert Wolven offered a report, noting an update on their work is also available in a text and video update.

For about an hour, the Council broke into small groups to discuss “rethinking ALA” and what the group’s aspirations were for ALA. Among the many comments and suggestions were:

  • Continue legislative advocacy
  • Literacy training funding
  • Offer leadership in copyright and fair use
  • Continue the Digital Content and Libraries Working Group efforts
  • Expand membership and encourage diversity
  • Encourage every MLIS graduate to become a member of ALA and mentor them to help them become engaged
  • To become as effective on the political scene as the National Rifle Association
  • To be a financially secure organization
  • See ALA as the source for continuing education for the profession

In new business, a resolution passed to change policy B.9.2.2 School Library Media Specialist (formerly ALA Policy #54.2.2) to reflect new terminology (school librarians versus school library media specialists) and to update the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education to its new name, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.