Appointments & Retirements

  • Hart, Haley

    Haley Hart joined Sawyer Free Library in Gloucester, Massachusetts, as teen librarian assistant in April.

  • Kugler, Krista

    Krista Kugler joined Fergus Falls (Minn.) Public Library as early learning librarian in April.

  • Linsky, Jacklyn

    In April, Sawyer Free Library in Gloucester, Massachusetts, appointed Jacklyn Linsky as local history librarian.

  • Lovins, Cari

    Cari LovinsCari Lovins became assistant director of digital product strategy for Emory University Libraries in Atlanta in January.

  • Behrend, Dawn

    Dawn BehrendIn January Dawn Behrend became instruction and outreach librarian at Lenoir–Rhyne University in Hickory, North Carolina.

View more


  • Kessler, Stan

    Stan Kessler was promoted to database administrator in Information Technology and Telecommunication Services (ITTS).

  • Khuri, Ronny

    Ronny Khuri joined Booklist March 18 as associate editor in the Books for Youth department.

  • Ni, Autumn

    Autumn Ni became development coordinator in the Development Office in February.

  • Ott, Bill

    Bill Ott retired as editor and publisher of Booklist April 26, after nearly 40 years with the magazine.

  • Pate, Steven

    Steven Pate, eStore project manager for ITTS, left ALA March 22.

View more


  • Hester, Sandy

    Sandy Hester, director of Coastal Plain Regional Library System in Tifton, Georgia, was named Public Librarian of the Year by Georgia Public Library Service.

  • Howell, Kim

    Kim Howell, librarian at Stockwell Place Elementary School in Bossier City, Louisiana, was named School Librarian of the Year at the Louisiana Library Association conference March 14.

  • Noon, Sherry

    Sherry Noon, youth and family services manager at Anderson Public Library in Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, received the Kentucky Library Association’s “Miss Pickle” Award for excellence in developing and providing children’s library services.

  • Rawlins, Stephanie Ann

    Gwinnett County (Ga.) Public Library and San José (Calif.) State University School of Information named Stephanie Ann Rawlins, director of Pike County (Ind.) Library, winner of their inaugural Innovative Librarians Award March 7.

  • Wang, Chi

    Chi Wang, head of the Chinese and Korean section of the Library of Congress until his retirement in 2004, received a tribute in the Congressional Record January 15 in recognition of his work to expand the library’s Chinese collection and improve mutual understanding between the two countries.

View more


  • Gapen, Delores

    Delores Kaye Gapen, 75, an academic librarian for more than 35 years, died February 14. Gapen was director of library and academic services at Trinity Washington (D.C.) University (2005–2007) and vice president and provost (2007–2009); director of the library at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland (1991–1996); dean of the general library system at University of Wisconsin–Madison (1984–1991); and dean of libraries at University of Alabama (1981–1984).

  • Hall, Mary Alice

    Mary Alice Hall, 88, chief of public services at Prince George’s County (Md.) Memorial Library System (1969– 1992), died January 1. She had previously worked for libraries in Independence, Missouri, and Manhattan, Kansas.

  • Hamm, Leta

    Leta Hamm, 85, a librarian at Illinois State University in Normal and Lee County (Fla.) Library System until her retirement in 2009, died February 26.

  • Hernandez, Belinda

    Belinda Hernandez, 52, longtime librarian at Shadycrest Elementary School in Pearland, Texas, died March 23.

  • Hilbert, John

    John Leroy Hilbert, 55, young adult/teen services librarian at Metropolitan Library System’s Southern Oaks Library in Oklahoma City for 18 years, died January 7.

View more