Dewey Decibel Podcast Bonus Episode

Inside the 2018 Youth Media Awards

February 16, 2018

Dewey Decibel Podcast Bonus Episode: Inside the 2018 Youth Media Awards

In this special bonus episode, Dewey Decibel goes behind the scenes at the 2018 Youth Media Awards, held February 12 at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in Denver.

American Libraries Associate Editor and Dewey Decibel host Phil Morehart joins the award-selection committees as they make phone calls to the winners the morning before the award announcement event. Morehart then talks to the heads of the Coretta Scott King Book Award and Newbery Medal committees to learn more about the award-selection process. Finally, we join the Mock Newbery Club from Oakridge Middle School in Clover, South Carolina, as they watch the award announcements and discuss the winners.

If you have feedback for the Dewey Decibel team, email us at Tell us what you like, what you don’t like, or what you’d like to see us cover. Follow us on Twitter and leave us a review on iTunes.


The Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction at Indiana University, Bloomington.

Researching Sex

Kinsey Institute Library marks 71 years of collections

Patrisse Cullors and Marley Dias in conversation at the Opening Session of the American Library Association's Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in Denver. Photo: Cognotes

2018 Midwinter Wrap-Up

A diversity of voices in Denver