Council III Addresses Equity for School Libraries

June 28, 2016

ALA Council poses for a historic group shot. Photo by Cognotes
ALA Council poses for a historic group shot. Photo by Cognotes

Sari Feldman called Council III to order at 7:45 a.m.

Chair of Committee on Legislation (COL) Ann Dutton Ewbank gave her report and requested that the Deaf Culture Digital Library resolution (CD #46_62516) be deferred to Midwinter 2017 so that appropriate research can be conducted. The motion passed.

The COL also presented four additional resolutions, which all passed. They included:

A resolution (CD #20.4) to request immediate ratification of the Marrakesh Treaty to facilitate access to published works for persons who are blind, visually impaired, or otherwise print disabled.

A resolution of appreciation to congressional champions for support of school libraries and school librarians in the Every Student Succeeds Act. (CD#20.5)

A resolution (CD #20.6) on equity for school libraries for the Department of Education making rules for ESSA.

A resolution (CD #20.7) for equity for all in school libraries.  The third resolve clause was amended to “works with ALA research committees to document the impact on students of a well-funded, effective school library program, particularly in minority and rural communities.”

Pamela R. Klipsch, chair of ALA’s Intellectual Freedom Committee presented her report with privacy guidelines for students in K-12 school, for library management systems, for data exchange between networked devices and services, for public access computers and access networks access. (CD #19.3-19.8) She also presented a motion on Religion in America: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights (CD #19.9). The motion passed. She asked that Council defer a resolution (CD #45) on gun violence affecting libraries, library workers, and library patrons. She said that IFC and COL unanimously determined that this resolution would benefit from further discussion and revision after Annual Conference. After much discussion, the council voted to defer.

Mario Gonzalez presented the ALA treasurer’s report and asked for the approval of fiscal year 2017 budgetary ceiling of $65,403,215. (CD #13.3) The motion passed unanimously.

William (Bill) Sidduth, chair, presented the tellers report. (CD #12.3) Results were:

Diane R. Chen, Ed Garcia, Alexandra P. Rivera and Christian Zabriskie were elected to the Council Committee on Committees.

Mahed J. Khader, Dale K. McNeill, Tamika Barnes, Eboni Henry, and Lessa K. Pelayo-Lozada were elected as council representatives to the Planning and Budget Assembly.

Keith Michael Fiels announced that registration for Conference at the end of Monday stood at 11,602 attendees, 4,995 total exhibitors, for a grand total of 16,597 registrants.

Memorials were read for: Ned Vizzini, John Ganly, Naomi Kietzke Young, Orvin Lee Shiflet, Richard Sweeney, Dolores Bullock Owen, Trudy Seidel Jaques, Larry Romans, Charles Weld Robinson, and the victims of the Pulse Nightclub shooting.

Tributes were offered honoring the 25th anniversary of the Video Round Table, the 25th anniversary of the Mortenson Center for International Library Programs at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and thanking Mary Alice Baish for her service as the 30th GPO superintendent of documents.

Sari Feldman presented Mario Gonzalez with a plaque in thanks for his service to ALA as treasurer for 2013-2016.

Council III adjourned at 9:25 a.m.


Elana Zeide

Privacy and School Data

Ensuring student data privacy in a networked world

David Walls, Jeanne Drewes, Tammy Zavinski

Preserving Endangered Documents

An initiative to ensure access to government information