Laughlin Withdraws Candidacy for 2017–2018 ALA Presidency

October 16, 2015

Sara Gaar Laughlin

Sara Gaar Laughlin, retired director of the Monroe County (Ind.) Public Library in Bloomington, has withdrawn her candidacy for the 2017–2018 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA). A family health matter requiring Laughlin’s full attention prompted her to leave the race.

“I will forever count the nomination as the high point of my career,” Laughlin said in an October 16 statement. “I was looking forward to meeting many librarians and supporters and learning more about ALA during the next few months, and potentially becoming spokesperson and cheerleader-in-chief for the implementation of ALA’s exciting new strategic plan. With three strong candidates remaining and deeply committed members and staff, I feel confident that ALA will be in very good hands.”

Laughlin’s withdrawal leaves three candidates for the ALA presidency: Christine Lind Hage, Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe, and James G. “Jim” Neal.

Ballot emailing for the 2016 ALA election will begin on March 15, 2016, and will run through April 22, 2016. Individuals must be members in good standing as of January 31, 2016 in order to vote.


Digital Services Assistant Srdjan Vasilic takes a photo of two patrons in front of the green screen in Niles Public Library's Creative Studio.

Cubs Win! Cubs Win! Cubs Win!

Niles Public Library showcases its makerspace and celebrates the Chicago Cubs with Wrigley Field green-screen display