Council I Passes Resolution on Islamophobia

January 10, 2016

President-Elect Julie B. Todaro, chair of the 2015–2016 Committee on Committees, presented the nominations for the 2016–2017 election by Council of three Executive Board members (CD#11). The nominees are Vicki Morris Emery, Andrew K. Pace, John C. De Santis, Karen E. Downing, Kimberly Ann Patton, and Ann Crewdson. There were no nominations from the floor. … Continue reading Council I Passes Resolution on Islamophobia

Dale McNeill, Tiffany Allen, and Elisa Topper at the "Art of Asking: Salary Negotiation for Library Workers" panel.

How to Ask for More: Tips on Salary Negotiation and Beyond

June 28, 2015

The session featured three other speakers: Dale McNeill, assistant director of public services, San Antonio Public Library; Elisa Topper, director, McCook (Ill.) Public Library; and Tiffany Allen, director of library human resources, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. To begin, each panelist offered quick tips for salary and benefits negotiation, and then Geraci directed … Continue reading How to Ask for More: Tips on Salary Negotiation and Beyond

National Library Workers Day logo

National Library Workers Day

April 14, 2015

To honor them, the American Library Association–Allied Professional Association (ALA-APA) gathered testimonials about library workers from all 50 US states, the District of Columbia, and some international libraries, and posted them as a “Galaxy of Stars” on the National Library Workers Day page. Here are just a few of the people mentioned there: “Lori Dekydtspotter, from … Continue reading National Library Workers Day